More fun with Air Plants

I finished my air plant project!  Here are all three together:

From left to right:

My first try – a beach rock on a slate tile with green air plant

My second piece – another slate tile, with a stone I picked up from the grounds of Chichen Itza in Mexico last year and a reddish purple air plant

My third and final (for now) – a limestone and coral clump I picked up in Key West that happened to have a perfectly sized hole in it, and a green spiky air plant.

Again, I can’t take credit for this idea. It was inspired by the artwork of the person I purchased the plants from. Check out her Etsy shop here.

I’ve had them for a few weeks now and have managed not to kill them, which is impressive for me.  I spray them every few days and leave them in my window where they get sun for about half of the day.  I can’t wait to hang up the tile pieces on the wall in the new apartment.  The coral piece will go on the top shelf of my desk, where it will hopefully* be safe from the curious and deadly claws of Shep.

The total cost of this project was under $25, and that’s including the tiles which are repurposed. The only unnatural component is the silicone glue, but I don’t know if there’s any way around that other than mixing my own concrete.

Speaking of natural materials,  I had a coupon from VivaTerra, so I splurged on two items: bath towels and place mats:

I looked everywhere before I bought these, but couldn’t find anything like them anywhere else.  They are so simple and natural (just rocks glued on to black felt), but they also have a modern look that is not likely to go out of style or clash with any dishes I’d buy in the future.  I photographed the placemat with one of the bamboo sushi plates I purchased from Etsy, but of course this will look a whole lot better set up on the counter rather than my bed!

I must confess though, I had jumped on the bamboo bandwagon without doing my research, and while this shouldn’t really be a surprise, some of the “eco friendly” marketing angles of bamboo products are deceptive.  Wait! Now don’t go throwing away that bamboo cutting board quite yet!   In my next entry, I will post the results of my research on the pros and cons of bamboo.

Happy Summer Solstice to all of you!

This entry was posted in A Green Living Space. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More fun with Air Plants

  1. jenrock says:

    I love that I indirectly contributed to one of those sculptures : )

Leave a Reply

